Since the pandemic hit, Massachusetts has developed strict protocols for those wishing to physically enter the state. Presently, all those 18 years of age or older, as well as unaccompanied minors, must quarantine for 14 days, or otherwise provide written proof that they received a negative COVID-19 test result within 72 hours prior to arriving in MA. The penalty for non-compliance is stiff: a fine of $500 per day.
Prior to September 5, 2020, at 12:01 a.m. MA had designated ten states as lower-risk, i.e., those traveling into MA from Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Vermont and West Virginia were not required to follow the quarantine/testing protocol to enter and remain in the state of MA. “Lower risk” is defined as those states meeting the following criteria: 1) daily cases per 100,000 persons are below 6, AND 2) the positive COVID-19 test rate in the state is below 5%.
On September 5, travelers into MA from Oregon, Washington and Wyoming were also given a pass on quarantine/proof of negative testing, as these 3 additional states have now been added to the “lower risk” category Governor Baker and the Department of Public Health.
These three states join the prior ten, as well as the following exempt traveler circumstances: transitory travel through the state; commuters for work/school; patients seeking specialized medical treatment; military personnel; and worker providing critical infrastructure services.